“Islands Without Names” by Elizabeth Graver

Open this story in our mobile app!

Elena and Danny are both worried about their mother; her memory is deteriorating rapidly. At least, that’s what she tells them. Danny isn’t so sure he believes her. He thinks his mom is just seeking attention, and he has enough of his own problems. Elena believes that their mother is truly slipping, but she knows that with enough research and time she can help her mom stop the loss of memory from growing any worse. Lily, their mother, spends her days alone in a tiny two-room apartment waiting for her children’s next visit. They have their secrets. If only they would speak the things they are really thinking…

Islands Without Names

To read this story and thousands more…

Register Now!

About the Author
Elizabeth Graver’s fourth novel, The End of the Point, was long-listed for the 2013 National Book Award in Fiction and selected as a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. Her other novels are Awake, The Honey Thief, and Unravelling. Her story collection, Have You Seen Me?, won the 1991 Drue Heinz Literature Prize. Her work has been anthologized in Best American Short Stories (1991, 2001); Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards (1994, 1996, 2001), The Pushcart Prize Anthology (2001), and Best American Essays (1998). She teaches at Boston College and is at work on a new project that draws on the Sephardic Jewish history of her family.
More stories from Elizabeth Graver